A Lengthy Thanksgiving Blog Post

It is thanksgiving after all, and when I think about doing the whole lengthy Facebook status I cringe. I mean, I’m not judging the rest of the people who do do that, I kinda like to see them sometimes. People who show their thanks in anyway is great. We should be thankful. We are alive, we are here together in some way or another and we are living in a great time.

A lot of things can happen in a year. Things can get really difficult to overcome at some point. We’ve all had some sort of pain in the year. We’ve all found the good throughout the bad. We’ve lost things, but we’ve gained other things. Life turns and tosses us through some crazy situations, but it always keeps turning and we find ourselves back in some sort of mild comfort again. It is difficult to overcome the bad when it seems like the bad is taking the good out of you. I know. I’ve been there. I am there. But there is still so much I can and should be thankful for. So here it is: a lengthy thanksgiving blog post.

I am not sure where to start. I’m thankful for a lot this year. Family, friends, nature, life. I’m thankful that it rains I am thankful that when it does rain I am sheltered. I am thankful for the people I’ve met, and the friends that I’ve kept after many years. I’m thankful that life gives me everything I need, that I truly need, to be here. I am thankful for the people in my life, from the old friends, old boyfriends (ex’s, I guess.. Even though I hate that word, that’s for another post that is still in progress) I am thankful that I have me, that I have learned to love me in the best of ways and I am happy that my self awareness has grown so much that no one can seriously damage me anymore. I am thankful that relationship have ended in the worst ways; it has seriously helped me grow more than anyone could imagine. I am thankful that others have ended smoothly, because it shows that not everything leads to yelling, tears and fighting. I am thankful that I have stopped yelling, and fighting, it has changed me entirely.

I am thankful for the people I’ve met, and thankful that I can meet people any time I like. I am thankful for the people that I’ve met in Stephenville. I am thankful for the best two years of my life. The people I’ve grown to love and cherish there have been the most understanding, comfortable, chill and exciting group of people. I’m thankful for meeting another lady friend who found comfort in me, and that I found comfort in her. I am thankful for the experiences we shared. I love you guys, you know it, and I hope that I can remind you for the rest of your days how much you mean to me.

I am thankful for possibly the most comforting, amazing, relaxed relationship I have ever, and probably will have ever jumped into. It was wonderful from beginning to end. It remains wonderful, no matter what. At least to me, it will.

I am thankful to have met a friend in my first year of Video Game Design who introduced me to most of the people I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. I love him still, and will always. You were a light in my life and those memories will stay close to me for life. You are my best friend, whether you want to be or not.

I am thankful for my family. For my parents and their patience. For their advice and the struggles. I am thankful they are so good to me, and I am aware that not everyone has this luxury. I am lucky to have this family. There is too much to say about them.

I am thankful for this life. It is not fair to say that I hate my life, although sometimes those words escape my lips. We need to understand that we have been blessed to live on such a wonderful island, in a wonderful country. Things might change, but right now, this is the life. This place is beyond beautiful, if you look for the beauty. The ocean crashing on the shore line, the colors of the rocks and the sky. The way the sky changes through the day and night. The stars act as a great reminder of how small we are, and although that can be a sad thought for some, it is uplifting to me now. I am thankful to be so small. I am thankful that the world is so much bigger than I am and that I am only seeing a small portion of what is. It means that there is so much more to this life then the hardships and fights we face. It reminds me that life will go on and send more adventures my way. And I am more then thankful for that.

I am alive, I am awake, and I’m seeing things I’ve never seen before. Even if I’m stuck in a small town with no friends within an hours distance, I have so much more than I realize sometimes. I am going to keep looking at the stars and the clouds, and I’m going to watch them change and I’m going to keep changing too. If the world throws me into a dark place I will adapt and find the light.

I friggin love everything. There’s no use in being a sad person all the time. Life is what I’ve got, I might as well see the good in everything. I am thankful for being me.

Happy Thanksgiving you crazy kids. Smile today.

Leave a comment